Understanding Calendar Permissions

The combination of the user’s sharing permissions and the calendars auto-accept setting will determine the behavior of how an invitation is handled for a resource or user created calendar.

Here’s what people can do with each sharing option:

Make changes AND manage sharing

  • Change sharing settings
  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Permanently delete the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

Note: this permission level is not granted on NC State Google Resource Calendars and is only available on user created calendars

Make changes to events

  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

See all event details

  • See details for all events except those marked as private
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar

See free/busy information (no details)

See when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but not the names or other details of your events.

Calendar Invitations Responses

Make changes and manage sharing Make changes to events See all event details See free/busy information
Auto-accept If no conflict, calendar accepts invitation Calendar Declines Invitation
Automatically add Added to calendar, manual acceptance or decline
Do not show No response or action taken